Well, I’m sure it’s sad for a variety of white ladies too but it’s sad for us because of what Teddy represented. It is a very popular myth that many of us born between 1970 and 1982 were conceived as a result of Teddy Pendergrass’ or Luther Vandross’ music. So, we kinda owe our lives to him (them). In all honesty, I thought Teddy was already dead. (For the record, I do that alot. I thought Slick Rick was dead. Or was it Easy E? Suffice to say, I think alot of old black entertainers are dead quite often and am always pleasantly surprised to find out otherwise.) Not only that, but I loved me some Teddy Pendergrass. There was just something about how he sang and the actual music itself that just made sense and made you move regardless of where you were or what you were doing. And, there is that little matter of the way that Teddy could gently suggest that you do something and if you weren’t listening carefully enough, he’d say it a little more forcefully. Cedric the Entertainer said it far better than I. “Turn ’em off!” “Close the door.” That man could tell you what to do and by God that’s exactly what you were going to do.

So, RIP Teddy Pendergrass. But that leads me to something kinda fun. Here’s the top five songs that if and when they come on the radio this BW–and many others I’m sure…post so you can tell the truth and shame the devil–will lose my damn mind over trying to get somewhere, sing along and dance.

1. Teddy Pendergrass: “Turn off the Lights”…and light a damn candle. Uhm, uh, uh..There is this moment though where I wonder if Teddy isn’t actually talking to BW. “Let’s take a shower together..I’ll wash your body/you’ll wash mine”. Hmm..if only we liked to get our hair wet Teddy. That scenario is highly unlikely. As Gina Yashere states (start at 4:33):

 

As Al B Sure says, “sho you right.” Unsexy because there’d be so much anxiety what with all that steam and water and…ooh, I don’t even like to think about it.

Anyway, #2: Maze featuring Frankie Beverly: “Before I Let Go.” When I used to go to the [black] club back in my college days, that was always the song that played at 2 am when everything was about to shut down. My peers all lost their damn minds trying to sing at the top of their lungs “you make me happy..” and dance. So much two-stepping went on all I remember was swinging.

(When Maze featuring Frankie Beverly came to Austin, TX, I’d never seen so many BFs in all my time here. So proud was I. And, yes, while it is ritual to wear all-white at a Maze show (Frankie Beverly always wears white and it caught on. BP love clothing coordination), the woman with the all-white outfit ending in all-white linen shorts is, in fact, a HOT ASS MESS because you can absolutely see through her shorts. No bueno ma’am. No. Bueno.)

3. Earth, Wind and Fire’s “Love’s Holiday”. Actually, all of EWF’s music makes me lose it a little bit. But this one is probably one of the smoothest grooves that makes me feel like I’m at the skating rink in 4th grade.

4. Quincy Jones’ “Secret Garden“. This was ’round the time I had my crush on Al B. Sure. But even then I knew this song was good–even though I had no idea what the garden represented. Hmm..took on whole new meaning.

5. Finally, for a change of pace and era and tone, Juvenile’s “Back that Thing Up”. It came on the radio this morning while I was in my car and I felt like I regressed to an 18-year-old freshman. Ridiculous because it only takes the first 10 seconds for me to forget that I am a grown assed woman.

